Topic: import_items module problem

The import_items module appears to only add new items to the stock_master table, but not the item_codes table. This means that the items are not available for invoices or pricing. This leaves the item lists incomplete, requiring some manual cleanup.

I am new to FA - I've just started exploring v2.1.1. Perhaps this module worked for earlier versions? On the module download page it does not indicate a version number like the other modules.

All that said, keep up the good work. This is a great system, and one I hope to use for my business...

Re: import_items module problem

Yes, the module was written for version 2.0. The item_codes table is new in 2.1, so it need some corrections in the code.
Janusz

Thanks Janusz.

I am happy to dive in manually for now - can you confirm that my understanding is correct?

To add stock I need to work with the following tables:
* stock_master
* loc_stock
* item_codes
* stock_category

to set pricing I only need to update
* prices

and to set quantity on hand I need to work with
* stock_moves
* gl_trans

Mostly this list is correct.
Quantity on hand is calculated from stock_moves. Stock_moves records are added during delivery/receiving of inventory items. To add prices you need first have defined sales types (price lists).
You will find current ERD diagram with all relations here.

Janusz

Many thanks. Can you perhaps clarify what the trans_no field means in stock_moves (and how it is derived)? I suspect that it links to gl_trans, but can't see the logic of the numbering.

further to my above post:

in gl_trans, it looks like the type_no field ties up to the trans_no field in stock_moves

In gl_trans type and type_no together are key to document for which the gl post was created. The same relation is for stock_moves trans_no and type fields.
Janusz

I see stock_matster and item_codes

Why do they both have category_id?