1 (edited by Marc Paré 09/16/2015 10:25:28 am)

Topic: Restoring from Backup

I am not sure what I am doing wrong. I am new to FrontAccounting.

I had created my company and wanted to roll-back to a previous backup. For some reason, the restore took a very long time ... which never happened when I tested FrontAccounting.

So, I created a new company with the same name, but the original company had the "Table Pref: 1 and now the new company has the "Table Pref:2"

When I try to restore from my backup, it doesn't seem to work. I made sure the fiscal years matched. But, I wonder, when a backup is restored, should it not restore ALL of the files, regardless of the previous database table pref or fiscal years? Should it not just overwrite all?

In my case, it does seem to overwrite anything and my new copy of the company is empty of data (or at least I can't seem to see any).

Any ideas?

Just to add, if the issue is that I need to have the same "Table Pref: 1" as the original company, how would I reset FrontAccounting to allow me to create a new company, but going back to "Table Pref: 1" ... where would I be able to change the database file to reset the numbering count for "Table Pref"?

Marc

Re: Restoring from Backup

In phpMyAdmin or SQLyog or any MySQL client, drop your FA database (or delete the 1_ prefixed tables in a shared db) for the said company. Recreate the database for the 1_ company. Now get your extracted sql file from your earlier backup and load it into the newly created database.

If you still have any problems, PM me with the access details and a link to your backup.

Thanks for the quick reply.

I am going to treat this as a learning exercise for myself and try to understand how to fix.