Topic: Opening credit balances

I think I've read everything in the Wiki about setting opening balances, and I get that I would need an invoice to create a normal balance on a customer/debtor (AR) account.

However, the company I'm working with is set up such that most of their customers have credit balances. I know I can create an invoice and then overpay that invoice to create a credit balance, but that seems like a lot of extra stuff just to set an opening balance on a customer (debtor) account.

Suggestions?

Background:  I'm a software developer with 10+ years of PHP and 25+ years of database experience. I am coding the conversion from the client's old system (non-SQL) to FrontAccounting, so I don't need the UI to do this. I just want to do it the right way. I am using the UI and database diffs to analyze how FA stores things.

Re: Opening credit balances

Create a Credit Note / Debit Note for each Balance Sheet Entry at the beginning of the blank current and first FA fiscal. Alternatively make a Journal entry for all the balance sheet figures on the last day for the previous fiscal, open a new fiscal year, close the old fiscal year and the old closing balances will get transferred as opening balances in the new fiscal. Note that the former will allow for allocation to Supplier/Customer but the latter will address non tracked payments / receipts only.

Thank you. I didn't think I could issue a credit without an invoice, but I see that I can.

I'm testing with the Test Company and I've entered a lot of stuff to analyze the transactions. Can I create an earlier fiscal year to test this, or do I need to start fresh/clean company and create the fiscal years in order?  Somewhere I saw someone say that the fiscal years had to be numbered with the earlier years having lower ID numbers.