Topic: Security role updations result in missing permissions

Tested the following in a non default company.

1. Fresh install based on en_US-demo.sql
2. Take backup 1
3. Setup => Access Setup
4. Choose System Administrator Role
5. Click Save Role
6. Take  backup 2
7. Compare backup 1 and backup 2:

The backup 1 has these permissions for System Administrator:

256;257;258;259;260;

The backup 2 does not have these anymore, all other permissions are the same.

When the permissions for the Fixed Asset Configuration is ticked for the System Administrator and the Role saved, the extra permission that appears for the said role is: 9216.

@joe: Are there any defaults hardcoded in the scripts that may be in error?

Post's attachments

SecRoles.txt 2.4 kb, 1 downloads since 2018-02-18 

You don't have the permssions to download the attachments of this post.

Re: Security role updations result in missing permissions

Will have a look later. Maybe we should address this to Janusz.

Joe

Re: Security role updations result in missing permissions

Cannot reproduce this issue, on my installation all the permissions are the same in both backups, however their order changes.

I guess you restore admin backup file on non-first company in your setup, so site administration permissions are removed automatically. Only first company has administration rights allowed.

J.

Re: Security role updations result in missing permissions

When we create a new company (non-default) and choose the en_US-demo.sql company, we get the extra permissions by default - 256;257;258;259;260 but the code possibly handles this anomaly by restricting such permissions for the non-default company. When we edit the System Administrator Role in the new non-default company without making any changes (dummy save), the said permissions vanish in the backup. There is no restoration of any backups involved here.

Re: Security role updations result in missing permissions

Does this mean that all standard Chart of Accounts are made with Default Company permissions and that on creating a non default company with it does not automatically remove such Super Admin privileges for it?